skip to Main Content

Ugly Bug Ball: A Fun & Festive Celebration

10/04/08 by Staff Writer


More than 250 people celebrated the Center for the Environment’s past and upcoming initiatives Oct. 3, 2008, at the Third Annual Ugly Bug Ball.


Participants combined a good time with a great cause. “The Ugly Bug Ball is always a fun and festive occasion,” says Margaret Lipe, Center Advisory Board member. “It’s one of the best balls that Salisbury has. Knowing that it supports the work of the Center makes it even better.”


The event celebrated the Center’s past air quality efforts, which were sponsored by F & M Bank, SunTrust Bank, Wachovia, Community One Bank, Bank of North Carolina, Power Curbers Inc., Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation, Robertson Foundation, County of Rowan, City of Salisbury, Fred and Alice Stanback and Catawba College.


It also celebrated the Center’s upcoming efforts, which will be sponsored, in part, by the N.C. Department of Transportation.


Susan Cloninger and Susan Smith served as co-chairs of the Ugly Bug Ball Planning Committee. Members of the committee included Elisa Alfieri, Christy Cline, Judy Currin, Tracy and Seamus Donaldson, Robin and Steve Fisher, Sue Fisher, Lillian Gascoigne, Joyce and Joel Goodwin, Bonnie and Jim Beal Graham, Annette Hall, Becky and Bruce Jones, Alice Ketcham, Margo and Phil Kirk, Leigh Ann Loeblein, Jim McDermott, Ellen Messinger, Beverly and Jim Mitchell, Susan Norvell, Elizabeth Norvell, Carolyn and Dewey Peck, Jolene Philpott, Jennifer Pippin, Trisha Proper, Camille and Parker Reische, Oliver Scott, Hayes Smith, Cyncie Staats, Alice Stanback, Marianna and David Swaim, Annette Turner, Wanda Urbanska, Frances Weant, Amy Wimmer, Tom Wolpert.

Back To Top